Every Child Achieves

Every Child Achieves


The Local Governing Body (LGB):

Follows the 3 core functions set out in the Governance Handbook 2019:

  1. To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. To hold the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the Academy and its children;
  3. To oversee the financial performance of the Academy and making sure its money is well spent.

Together, the governors are responsible for:

  • Setting aims and targets for the Academy and checking their progress towards attaining these;
  • Monitoring how well the Academy’s policies and plans are working;
  • Accounting for the performance of the Academy and the Local Governing Body;
  • Working with the Head teacher to make sure that teaching at the Academy is effective and good quality and the children are making the best possible progress;
  • Taking general responsibility for the Academy and its budget;
  • Challenging and supporting the senior management team and taking opportunities to show interest in and appreciation of staff and children;
  • Promoting the interests of the Academy and its children in the wider community.


A Shadow Governing body was created on 2nd May 2018 to support and advise the Executive Head teacher during the pre-opening of the Academy.

Now the Academy is open a formal LGB has be formed.

For 2019-2020 the LGB will comprises of:

 The Executive Head Teacher

 Staff governor - elected by the staff at the Academy 

 1 Parent governor - elected from parents at the Academy

 3 Co-opted governors - Invited by the LGB for their skill set from the local community

 Associate members - Appointed by the governors to provide short term support in areas identified by the LGB. They have no voting rights and their term of office will be limited to 1 year. 


The Chair of Governors is Jane Makin and can be contacted on j.makin@keeblegatewayacademy.org or

c/o Keeble Gateway Academy,Topcliffe road, Thirsk, YO7 1TS 

 Local Governing Body:

Nikkie Beniams - Designated Executive Head teacher -Nikkie is the executive head teacher at Keeble Gateway Academy and  Knayton C of E Academy. Both Academies are part of Elevate Multi Academy Trust. She has been actively involved in the creation of the Trust, and has been developed the teaching, learning and assessment policy adopted by Elevate’s Academies. In addition, she leads on CPD for 'Keep up not catch up', the unique approach adopted by Elevate. Knayton was graded outstanding in all areas by OFSTED in 2017. "The head teacher has instilled a culture of high expectations that is shared by all teachers and governors." (OFSTED 2017)

Jane Makin - Co opted governor and Chair: Jane has spent 35 years in education working both within the state and independent sector. She is a great supporter and advocate of small rural schools. Latterly, she was a Head teacher of a small independent day school with a day care facility for babies and children from 0 - 11 years before taking early retirement to be able to spend time giving back to the world of education. During her 13 years of Headship Jane was a strategic leader within a Teaching Alliance. Jane is also a governor of another local state school where she has chaired the teaching and learning committee and has delegated Governor responsibility for Safeguarding. Jane also acts as a mentor for Head teachers, as well as fulfilling her duties as an Independent Schools inspector. She has a passion for education and the holistic development of all children. She fully upholds the vision, values and ethos of Elevate. In her spare time she is a keen sportswoman, enjoying cycling, walking and skiing.

Clive West - Co opted governor: Clive is a recently retired Chartered Quantity Surveyor and Project Manager and the majority of his career was spent in North Yorkshire delivering primary, secondary and tertiary educational projects. As the Head of Building Design and Management at the County Council and as a Divisional Director of Jacobs Engineering he was extensively involved in client-side discussions on the educational objectives and deliverables required from projects and how they could be achieved. He is a past Parent Governor of Thirsk School.

Julie Dent- Co opted governor:   Julie has worked in the Early Years sector for 34 years and has worked in Early Years management for local authorities and in a small independent school. Julie is currently a serving Ofsted Inspector and published author. Julie has, also, undertaken duties as an Independent Schools Inspector. Julie has 3 daughters and a granddaughter who keeps her very busy in her spare time. 

Hannah Burrell - Assistant Head teacher. Elected Staff governor.

Kate Parsons -Parent governor: Katie has followed the journey of Keeble from a prospective parents’ perspective in the early stages of the school’s concept and proposals, through to enrolling her child  who started in nursery from its opening in September 2019.  Katie has worked in PR and Communications for 12 years, which includes strategic experience of stakeholder engagement and supporting the establishment of a new business.  Katie and her family live on the Gateway development and is passionate about supporting her local school as it establishes its future.

Hannah Secouet - . Following University, Hannah moved to London to work as a producer in radio and audio production for national networks and large corporate clients. In 2000, she joined the Central Office of Information, where she worked closely with central government policy makers in turning policies into public messages. After the birth of her daughter in 2010, she returned home to North Yorkshire with her family. Soon after her children started at Knayton C of E Academy, she began to volunteer in school, becoming a governor in 2014, with specific interest in SEND, and Chair of Governors in 2018. Hannah has a Level 3 Diploma in Specialist Support for Teaching and Learning in Schools, she also captains a team for Thirsk Hockey Club and helps coach their junior section.

Clerk: Dianne Mousley, Elevate's compliance officer. She has a BA joint hons law and history and was then called to the Bar in 1981. She worked as an employed lawyer  from 1982 to 1987. Since moving to North Yorkshire she joined North Yorkshire County Council governor support as a clerk to governing bodies until 2017 when she joined Elevate Multi Academy Trust.

She achieved the National College for Teaching and Leadership qualification in 2014.






Nikkie Beniams

Executive Head




Hannah Burrell




27.09.2019 to 27.09.2023


Julie Dent


Co opted


27.09.2019 to 27.09.2023

SEN/PP/vulnerable children


Clive West


Co opted


27.09.2019 to 27.09.2023

H&S, finance and buildings

Jane Makin


Co opted


27.09.2019 to 27.09.2023

Safeguarding, behaviour & attitude

Leadership and management

Katie Parsons



27.09.2019 to 27.09.2020

Vision and Marketing


Hannah Secouet



27.09.2019 to 27.09.2020

SEN/PP/vulnerable children



Register Of Interest for Governors:


 Clive West 27.09.19.pdfDownload
 Hannah Burrell 27.09.19.pdfDownload
 Hannah Secouet.pdfDownload
 Jane Makin 27.09.19.pdfDownload
 Julie Dent 27.09.19.pdfDownload
 Kate Parsons 27.09.19.pdfDownload
 Nikkie Beniams 27.09.19.pdfDownload
Showing 1-7 of 7